Protect yourself from someone Stealing/Hijacking your domain name


The following blog is my experience with someone trying to get my domain name.

I have my domain name since about 1998 and a few months ago my domain name went offline.

After some checking of the whois record I noticed that the domain was in a “Suspended” state,  and after a few days would be set to “available” meaning anyone could buy it!

I found this out by calling Nominet and was told that they had been contacted by a company querying my domain details.
My problem was that my name in the whois database was my nickname and not a full correct name. I did this way back in 1998 as I didn’t want to advertise my name in the whois record.

I was told by Nominet that not using your full name is against there T&C’s and would result in the domain being released to the public if i didn’t update it. Luckily I managed to update the whois record before the domain was released (after some frantic phone calls and emails to Nominet.)

I asked Nominet why it took so many years to find my name was wrong. The answer is that companies exist that trawl the whois records to find nice domains and that have user records that are against the Nominet T&Cs.
Once they submit their findings, Nominet give about one week for you to change them. If you don’t, then the company gets the domain at a knock down price and you have no way to get it back!

So the moral of the story is KEEP YOUR RECORDS UP TO DATE so any problems and you can be contacted!

2 thoughts on “Protect yourself from someone Stealing/Hijacking your domain name

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like
    this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.

    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

